Van Aert Wins 2019 Tour de France Stage 10 and Some Big GC Contenders Lose Time

What a day in the Tour de France! Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) sprinted to his first career Tour de France stage victory today on Stage 10 and a handful of GC contenders lost serious time.

Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Rigoberto Urán (EF Education First), and Mikel Landa (Movistar) all gave up more than a minute and a half in the GC battle after getting caught behind a split in the crosswinds with 40 kilometers left in the stage.

Van Aert won the sprint out of the reduced lead group, beating Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) and Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) to the line. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) finished safely in the lead group to stay in yellow, Geraint Thomas and Egan Bernal moved to second and third overall.

Last kilometer – Stage 10 – Tour de France 2019

Landa Crash

Asgreen Shares the Road with No Man

2019 Tour de France Results

Stage 10 results

1 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 4:49:39
2 Elia Viviani (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep
3 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
4 Michael Matthews (Aus) Sunweb
5 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
6 Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates
7 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
8 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott
9 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale
10 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) CCC

General classification after stage 10

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 43:27:15
2 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos 0:01:12
3 Egan Bernal (Col) Ineos 0:01:16
4 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:27
5 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:01:45
6 Enric Mas (Spa) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:01:46
7 Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 0:01:47
8 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar 0:02:04
9 Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates 0:02:09
10 Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:02:32


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Other Stuff You Might Like

Why are you down here?


    This form uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed.