Simon Yates Wins Stage 12 of the 2019 Tour de France

Simon Yates Wins Stage 12 of the 2019 Tour de France

Simon Yates won the 12th stage of the 2019 Tour de France today from the breakaway, winning the three-man sprint to beat out Pello Bilbao (Astana) and Gregor Muhlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe). The three broke away on the day’s final climb.

“I’ve been saving energy until we got here in the mountains and this was my first day to try something,” Yates said after the stage. “Normally I’d be back in the peloton helping Adam [Yates] but today I had my own chance so I grabbed it with both hands.”

Julian Alaphilippe finished safely inside the GC group over nine-minutes maintaining his top spot in the overall standings.

Yates, Bilbao, and Mühlberger began their day as part of a very large breakaway that formed early in the 209.5-kilometer stage from Toulouse. Over 40 riders went clear and the peloton gave them plenty of room to build an advantage.

The first of two category-one climbs, the Col de Peyresourde, whittled the break down. It looked as though Simon Clarke (EF Education First) might run away with it as he soloed away on the descent and charged onto the final climb, the Horquette d’Ancizan. But, he was caught before the summit by Matteo Trentin and soon after Yates and Mühlberger attacked. Bilbao made the summit shortly behind and bridged to the two on the descent.

From there it was just the trio up front. In the final turns Yates gained speed, surged around the final bend and took the win. The victory gives Yates a stage win at all three of the Grand Tours.

Last kilometer – Stage 12 – Tour de France 2019

2019 Tour de France Results

Stage 12 results

1 Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 4:57:53
2 Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana
3 Gregor Mühlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:01:28
5 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
6 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott
7 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale
8 Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates
9 Simon Clarke (Aus) EF Education First
10 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo

General classification after stage 12

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 52:26:09
2 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos 0:01:12
3 Egan Bernal (Col) Ineos 0:01:16
4 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:27
5 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:01:45
6 Enric Mas (Spa) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:01:46
7 Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 0:01:47
8 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar 0:02:04
9 Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates 0:02:09
10 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:02:33