Elia Viviani Sprints to 2019 Tour de France Stage 4 Win

The almost entirely flat parcours of the 213.5-kilometer Tour de France Stage 4 today had the sprinters’ hopes up from the start. Bad news for the day’s three-rider breakaway, when the sprinters smell blood you’ll never get too much breathing room. Such was the story today, as the final breakaway survivor Michael Schär was caught with a little over 16 kilometers to go.

Lilian Calmejane (Total Direct Energie) tried a late attack, but his attempt was also ill-fated as he was reeled in with around six kilometers left to race. From there teams jockeyed for position at the front to launch their sprinter.

I don’t think many foresaw Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) out-sprinting Alexander Kristoff (UAE-Team Emirates) and Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) for the win today, but he did it and fairly decisively at that. Viviani took his first career Tour stage and it was clear it meant a lot to him.

“This meant a lot for me,” said Viviani, who has now taken stage victories across all three Grand Tours in his career.

“Today we did a perfect job, you saw how the lead-out did. I just need to thank the team. They were really unbelievable. I just had to in my job in the last 180 meters.”

Viviani’s Deceuninck-Quick-Step teammate Julian Alaphilippe finished safely within the peloton to hold onto the yellow jersey.

2019 Tour de France Results

Stage 4 results

1 Elia Viviani (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep 5:09:20
2 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
3 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto-Soudal
4 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
5 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
6 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
7 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Dimension Data
8 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
9 Michael Matthews (Aus) Sunweb
10 Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis Solutions Credits

General Classification Standings

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 14:41:39
2 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 0:00:20
3 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Jumbo-Visma 0:00:25
4 George Bennett (NZl) Jumbo-Visma
5 Michael Matthews (Aus) Sunweb 0:00:40
6 Egan Bernal (Col) Ineos
7 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos 0:00:45
8 Enric Mas (Spa) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:46
9 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) CCC 0:00:51
10 Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Other Stuff You Might Like

Why are you down here?


    This form uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed.