Caleb Ewan Does it Again with Victory at Stage 16 of 2019 Tour de France

Caleb Ewan Does it Again with Victory at Stage 16 of 2019 Tour de France

On today’s flat transition stage before the alps, Caleb Ewan took his second stage victory of this year’s Tour de France on stage 16. He out sprinted Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) and Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma) to be the first man to the line.

“To be honest I felt so bad today during the day. I think the heat really got to me,” Ewan said. “I was suffering so much I almost told Max [Monfort] to get off the front. But I had extra motivation today. My daughter and my wife were here so I was so happy I could win for them.”

No changes for the GC battle today as Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) finished safely in the peloton to retain his overall race lead. That said, what should have been a drama-free day for everyone, saw Geraint Thomas (Ineos) and Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) both crash in separate incidents. Thomas was back on the bike quickly, but Fuglsang was less lucky and was forced to abandon the 2019 Tour de France with a suspected broken clavicle.

The race heads to the alps tomorrow, time for the GC battle to light up for this final week!


Summary – Stage 16 – Tour de France 2019

2019 Tour de France Results

Stage 16 results

1 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal 3:57:08
2 Elia Viviani (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep
3 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
4 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
5 Niccolò Bonifazio (Ita) Total Direct Energie
6 Michael Matthews (Aus) Sunweb
7 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott
8 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
9 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
10 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty-Gobert

General classification after stage 16

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 64:57:30
2 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos 0:01:35
3 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:47
4 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:01:50
5 Egan Bernal (Col) Ineos 0:02:02
6 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:02:14
7 Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar 0:04:54
8 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar 0:05:00
9 Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First 0:05:33
10 Richie Porte (Aus) Trek-Segafredo 0:06:30