2019 Giro d’Italia Stage 17 Recap: Peters solos, Movistar looks strong

2019 Giro d’Italia Stage 17 Recap: Peters solos, Movistar looks strong
ANTHOLZ-ANTERSELVA, ITALY - MAY 29: Nans Peters of France and Team AG2R La Mondiale / during the 102nd Giro d'Italia 2019, Stage 17 a 181km stage from Commezzadura to Antholz-Anterselva 1635m / Tour of Italy / #Giro / @giroditalia / on May 29, 2019 in Antholz-Anterselva, Italy. (Photo by Justin Setterfield/Getty Images)

Nans Peters (Ag2r-La Mondiale) soloed to victory on Stage 17 of the 2019 Giro d’Italia today after launching a bold attack with 16 kilometers to go. The Frenchman took his win in the biathlon stadium at Anterselva after building a 1:34 margin over the next best man, Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott).

Peters and Chaves were both member of a 18-man break that got away early in the stage and which despite various attacks stayed together until very late in the day.

Chaves, Krists Neilands (Israel Cycling Academy) and Valerio Conti (UAE-Emirates) tried to put a chase together at the foot of the final 6km climb, but Peters, with an incredible effort, continued to open up the gap instead.

There were a few small changes for the GC group back in the peloton as well. Most notably, Mikel Landa attacked and edged his way a little closer to the top three. Movistar had a great day of racing, race leader Richard Carapaz gained seven more seconds on his closest rivals as the main group split apart during the final 2km.

That effort puts Carapaz in the overall lead by 1:54 from Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), with Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) third at 2:16.

Stage 17 Highlights

Nans Peters Attacks

Kilometers 5 – 2

Final 2 Kilometers

2019 Giro d’Italia Stage 17 Results and GC Standings

Stage 17

Pos. Rider Team Time
1 PETERS Nans AG2R La Mondiale 4:41:34
2 CHAVES Esteban Mitchelton-Scott 1:34
3 FORMOLO Davide BORA – hansgrohe 1:51
4 MASNADA Fausto Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec ,,
5 NEILANDS Krists Israel Cycling Academy ,,
6 KANGERT Tanel EF Education First 2:02
7 CONTI Valerio UAE-Team Emirates 2:08
8 BRAMBILLA Gianluca Trek – Segafredo ,,
9 HAMILTON Chris Team Sunweb 2:22
10 VENDRAME Andrea Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec 2:34

General Classification

Pos. Rider Team Time
1 CARAPAZ Richard Movistar Team 74:48:18
2 NIBALI Vincenzo Bahrain Merida 1:54
3 ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 2:16
4 LANDA Mikel Movistar Team 3:03
5 MOLLEMA Bauke Trek – Segafredo 5:07
6 LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Astana Pro Team 6:17
7 MAJKA RafaÅ‚ BORA – hansgrohe 6:48
8 YATES Simon Mitchelton-Scott 7:13
9 SIVAKOV Pavel Team INEOS 8:21
10 FORMOLO Davide BORA – hansgrohe 8:59