List of Teams Set to Start the 2019 Giro d’Italia

Seven summit finishes and three time trials, the 2019 edition of the Giro d’Italia is set to be one hell of a race. Organizers just released the full list of teams who will ride this year’s Giro, so we can start speculating on who’s going to come out on top.  The race starts in Bologna on May 11 and continues through to June 2.

To start, all 18 WorldTour teams are automatically included in the start list for all Grand Tours. But within that lineup are surprises, like that Sunweb’s Tom Dumoulin, winner of the 2017 Giro d’Italia, is targeting the Italian grand tour for 2019.

After coming second in both the Tour de France and Giro last year, most believed Dumoulin would exclusively target the Tour for 2019, but he has opted for the Giro due to the opportunity he sees in having three individual time trial stages.

Team Sky will be backing their young, up and coming rider Egan Bernal as team leader at the Giro.

Beyond the 18 UCI WorldTour teams race organizer RCS​ ​Sport​ ​has selected four wildcard teams. The Israel Cycling Academy will be at the Giro d’Italia along with three Italian pro-continental teams Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec, Bardiani–CSF  and Nippo-Vini Fantini- Faizanè.

Giro d’Italia 2019 teams

WorldTour teams

Team Sunweb (GER)
Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA)
Astana (KAZ)
Bahrain-Merida (BRN)
CCC Team (POL)
Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
Groupama-FDJ (FRA)
Lotto-Soudal (BEL)
Mitchelton-Scott (AUS)
Movistar (ESP)
Deceuninck – Quick-Step (BEL)
Dimension Data (RSA)
EF Education First (USA)
Katusha-Alpecin (SUI)
Jumbo-Visma (NED)
Team Sky (GBR)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
UAE Team Emirates (UAE)


Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec (ITA)
Bardiani-CSF (ITA)
Israel Cycling Academy (ISR)
Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizanè (ITA)

Say something witty

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Gear & Grit | The latest cycling news, tech, bikes and gear along with advice to inspire cyclists of all levels.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: